The Broad: Los Angeles, California

As a big admirer of art, one of my hobbies includes visiting museums and galleries. I’ve been dying to go to The Broad since I read about it over the summer and I knew that nothing else mattered but getting into this new popular museum. Chris, his mom and dad, and I were in town visiting his brothers who live in Beverly Hills for a quick 24 hours, Los Angeles style. The Broad= Number 1 on my list for this LA adventure!

Lets start off by saying how over the moon excited I was so be able to get into the museum in the first place. To be honest, from what I read and heard about the lines to get in, I thought we would either be waiting for hours or not get in at all. But boy, did we luck out! Only 45 minutes in line and we were in!! I was actually giddy when we got to the front of the line.

For those that don’t know, The Broad is the new contemporary art museum in downtown Los Angeles founded by philanthropists Eli and Edythe Broad. The museum is home to over 2,000 works of art ranging from the 1960s to the present. And what an extensive collection it was! I was blown away and so, so excited to be able to experience The Broad.

I hate being the person that only takes pictures of the art instead of truly enjoying it, so I only got a couple of shots, but that’s all the more reason for you to go check it out for yourself!

Don’t forget to catch Chris sneaking in on my shot of my favorite artist, Basquiat… haha!

IMG_7818
Balloon Dog (Blue), Jeff Koons, 1994-2000
IMG_7814
Nini’s Painting (Rome), Cy Twonbly, 1971
IMG_7819
Eat, Sleep, And Drink, Richard Prince, 1989
IMG_7825
Untitled (Your Body is a Battleground), Barbara Kruger, 1989
IMG_7828
Under the Table, Robert Therrien, 1994
IMG_7829
Untitled, Christopher Wool, 1990

 

Cover image: Eyes and Eggs, Jean-Michel Basquiat, 1983

 

One comment on “The Broad: Los Angeles, California

Leave a Reply

