LA Eats: Los Angeles, California

24 hours in LA and I ate for like 15 of those hours. No Joke…I’m all about trying new places to eat whenever I go. Here’s my round up of everything yummy while in LA…

Tapas, Tapas, Tapas. Oh My Gosh was AOC Winebar amazing! Starting of with their refreshing drinks, I had fire & smoke, el slencio mezcal with blood orange, chile de arbol, tequila and sweet wood. It was the perfect cocktail to start off the meal. For dinner, there were six of us to we each choose two tapas to share. We got so many tapas almost too many for me to write about so I’ll share my favorites. First up, the brussel sprouts with balsamic, radicchio, burrata and crumbs was delish. Ahh, I can almost taste the milky burrata and balsamic combination now. I’m also a sucker for bacon wrapped dates, and those at AOC did not disappoint, especially with a little bit of parmesan for that extra bite. For a meat dish, my favorite was the lamb skewers with skordalia, cucumber yogurt, black olives, and feta, a perfect Mediterranean dish. I definitely recommend going to AOC if in town; the ambiance plus amazing food is not to miss.

IMG_7839

After dinner, my favorite place for drinks El Carmen, was an obvious choice. I’ve been twice and will go everytime I’m in LA. Their specialty margaritas have different flavor profiles from others I’ve ever had. What can I say? If you are a lover of good margs and even better tequila like I am then you will love this spot, with hundreds of tequilas to choose from. But what I really love is the ambiance. It’s an intimate cocktail bar with dim lighting and walls decked out with Nacho Libre posters. Cool- Right?!

IMG_7850

The next day, after recovering from our marg induced hangovers; we headed to Abbott Kinney Blvd in Venice. What a fun street, especially for me since I’ve never been before. Lined up are cute little boutiques, though too expensive for me, but who doesn’t love a little window-shopping. With so many restaurants to choose from we settled on The Butcher’s Daughter, they had yummy avocado toast and much needed spicy bloody mary’s.

IMG_7861

IMG_7860

To cap off our time in LA, we had to stop for some mid afternoon drinks, The Tasting Kitchen was just the place. What is better than a crisp glass of rosé and some rosemary, parmesan fries with a garlicky aioli? The answer is nothing! It was the perfect way to end our mini vacation within a vacation.

IMG_7871

 

Leave a Reply

