Vintage Vibes: Austin, Texas

A little vintage window shopping never hurt anyone, right?

North Loop

My friend suggested Casey and I check out North Loop to get away from the ubiquitous tourist sections of Austin. The strip of North Loop Blvd seemed deserted when we got out of our Uber, but in actuality it wasn’t at all. Clad with a hybrid coffeshop/bar, a dive bar, a record store, a lingerie store, and many vintage shops, this spot turned out to be one of my favorite excursions of the entire trip.

IMG_8552

Wandering through the vintage stores was my favorite. I felt that I could get lost in the time warp of the poster covered walls and overflowing shelves. Room Service Vintage proved to be my favorite of the shops with a massive selection of vintage finds. I found myself in awe of everything I saw in the store from old cassettes to costume jewelry to flower power furniture dating from the 1970s.

IMG_8543

IMG_8541

How about an old school video store, but instead there are dvds for the modern twist. Vulcan Video reminded me of the mecca for any movie aficionado. Stocked with cult classic films, and new releases the selection seemed to be never ending.

IMG_8536

South Congress

Among all the stores, coffeshops, restaurants, and food trucks is Uncommon Objects an eccentric vintage store. This store housed basically everything you can imagine when it comes to antiques. Cowboy boots to a taxidermy armadillo, and everything in between can be found in this shop.

IMG_8453

IMG_8458

E Cesar Chavez

Intrigued from the previous adventure at Room Service, I was ready to tackle another store before leaving Austin. Located on the far end of E Cesar Chaves is Friends & Neighbors, a really cool hybrid vintage store and coffee shop. Seriously could this place be any cooler? Take a break from shopping and step to the back of the house to find a quaint coffee shop serving coffee, tea, beer, and wine… I mean sign me up now! After poking through the selection of clothing, jewelry, and housewares Casey and I got our coffees and chai tea and headed to the back to lounge in the sun. If I lived in Austin I’m pretty sure I’d be at this spot every blogging, reading, or just relaxing. It was the perfect vibe for our last afternoon.

IMG_8600

IMG_8607

Leave a Reply

